Price: £9.99
Release Date: 17th December 2012
Catalogue No: WNRCD5067
Barcode: 5018755506710

Northern Soul 2012

  • After a two year absence, DJ/producer Ian Levine’s series of new Northern Soul recordings is back stronger, bigger and better than before
  • Contains a mindblowing set of 24 brand new songs from some classic Northern Soul artists, guaranteed to set your pulse racing and your heart singing
  • New Northern Soul stompers and future floorfillers from the producer who set the classic Northern Soul dance clubs Wigan Casino and Blackpool Mecca alight back in the day
  • Features a collection of brand new songs from established names famous on the rare soul dancefloors of the UK, stalwart legends including Venicia Wilson, Barbara Green, Ronnie Walker and The Flirtations, as well as newer talent from Tahira Jumah and X-Factor winner Steve Brookstein

Northern Soul is a music and dance movement that emerged from the British mod scene in northern England in the late 1960s. Mainly consists of a particular style of black American soul music based on the heavy beat and fast tempo of the mid-1960s Tamla Motown sound. Associated with particular dance styles and fashions that emanated from the Twisted Wheel club in Manchester and spread to other dancehalls and nightclubs.

Ian Levine is most noted for his work in the music genres of pop, soul, disco and Hi-NRG. His crowning achievement was writing and producing for the successful UK boy band Take That and for The Pasadenas.

Track List:

Venicia Wilson – Worth Every Drop Of Rain
Ronnie Walker – Making It Easy
Lyn Jerrard – Me Minus You Equals Tears
Pat Lewis – Hello Detroit
The Concentrations – My Word Of Honour
Jennifer Dee – Holding You To Ransom
The Four Vandals – Brick By Brick Stone By Stone
Angelo Starr – Checking My Mailbox
The Flirtations – My Way Or The Highway
Gina Foster – Where Is The Music
Tahira Jumah – Love Is A Heartbeat Away
Barbara Green – What Kind Of World
Pat Lewis – Time Is Running Away
The Fantations – Tick Tock
Earnestine Pearce – Fifty Shades Of Grey
C.J. Jackson – Mister Heartbreaker
Tahira Jumah – Don’t You Hold Back
Ronnie Walker – Never Gonna Let You Go
Pat Lewis – Mister Fortune Teller
Steve Brookstein – Reflections In My Mind
Lonnie Gordon – It Hurts To Walk Away
Jay Harvey – Like A Shotgun
Ronnie Walker – The Promised Land
Pat Lewis – Destination Heartache

Price: £9.99
Release Date: 17th December 2012
Catalogue No: WNRCD5067
Barcode: 5018755506710