Nazz – Evolution: From Woody's Truck Stop to Nazz 1966-1968

Nazz – Evolution: From Woody's Truck Stop to Nazz 1966-1968
Release Date:
16th Feb 2018
Running Time:
63 minutes
Catalogue No:

Regular Price: £14.99

Special Price: £13.99

Continue Shopping
Add to Basket

Nazz – Evolution: From Woody's Truck Stop to Nazz 1966-1968

•    Compilation of late-'60s demos, alternate takes and unreleased compositions of Todd Rundgren and his early cult band, the Nazz

•    With only three LPs recorded in their existence, this collection delivers the goods to satisfy the tastes and curiosities of the hard core fanbase

•    Songs include Hello It’s Me, Open My Eyes and Some People, with unreleased tracks Forget All About It, Only One Winner, Magic Me and others

Woody's Truck Stop came together in Philadelphia, in late May 1966. As young teens, drummer Bob Radeloff and guitarist Alan Miller had been active in a folk group that played in the local area. Miller and Radeloff soon were adding drummer Artie Heller and bassist Carson Van Osten to form a group of their own, heavily inspired by electric blues acts like the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and the Blues Project, as well as Chess blues artists and British blues-rock groups like the Yardbirds.

Inspired by a variety of British Invasion groups, from the omnipresent Beatles to cult favorites the Move, Todd Rundgren and his Woody's Truck Stop colleague Carson Van Osten formed the Nazz in 1967. Taking their name from an obscure Yardbirds song, the Nazz were arguably the first Anglophiles in rock history. There had been many groups that drew inspiration from the Beatles and the Stones, but none had been so self-consciously reverent as the Nazz. One of their first singles, "Open My Eyes," twisted the riff from the Who's "I Can't Explain," and much of their music felt like homages to Brit rock from the Kinks to Cream, thereby setting a precedent that was followed by scores of North American guitar pop bands from the Raspberries to Sloan.

1. That’s Right, You’re Wrong (demo)
2. Why Is It Me? (demo)
3. Times Have Changed (demo)
4. She Must Be Blind (demo)
5. Rock Me Baby (demo)
6. Hello, It’s Me (audition tape)
7. Crowded (audition tape)
8. Lemming Song (demo)
9. Kicks (long version)
10. Some People (alternate version)
11. Nazz commercials (radio promotion)
12. Open My Eyes (alternate take)
13. Forget All About It ((unreleased)
14. Only One Winner (unreleased)
15. Magic Me (unreleased)
16. Gonna Cry Today (unreleased)
17. Meridian Leeward (unreleased)
18. Cissy Strut